Navaratri 2021:Why is Navaratri celebrated

Spread the love

Navaratri 2021:Why is Navaratri celebrated



Navaratri is a Hindu celebration that takes place every year in the autumn and lasts for nine nights and ten days during which nine forms of Goddess Durga are worshipped. It is observed and celebrated differently in different parts of India.  There are four seasonal Navaratri. The celebration is held in the bright half of the Hindu calendar month Ashvin, which matches September and October in the Gregorian calendar.

Navaratri is a Sanskrit term that means “nine nights,” with Nava meaning “nine” and Ratri meaning “nights.”

Navaratri 2021 Dates

This year’s Sharad Navratri will begin with Ghatasthapana on October 7 and finish with Vijay Dashami and Durga Visarjan on October 15.

October 7,2021    Ghatasthapana, Maa Shailputri Puja

October 8,2021
Maa Brahmacharini Puja

October 9,2021
        Maa Chandraghanta Puja & Maa Kushmanda Puja

October 10,2021
Maa Skandamata Puja

October 11,2021
Maa Katyayani Puja

October 12,2021
Maa Kalaratri Puja

October 13,2021

Maa MahaGauri Puja, Durga Maha Navami Puja ,Durga Puja Asthami

October 14,2021
Maa Siddhidatri Puja, Navratri Parana ,Vijay Dashmi

October 15,2021
Durga Visarjan

Why is Navaratri celebrated?

Worshiping these nine avatars of goddess Durga during Navratri is thought to give prosperity, health, and wisdom to worshippers.
According to Hindu mythology, Lord Shiva gave his wife Goddess Durga permission to see her mother for nine days during this time.
Lord Brahma, Vishnu, and Shiva joined their energies to create Goddess Durga in order to destroy Mahishasura, the demon king who attacked the three regions of the universe: Earth, Heaven, and Hell. Lord Brahma granted Mahishasura the wish that he could only be defeated by a woman, therefore no one could defeat him. On the Mahalya day, Goddess Durga killed him with her Trishul after a 15-day struggle that’s why her Maa Kali avatar is represented as a symbol of shakti.

Nine days of Navaratri

We worship different avatars of goddess Durga during the time of these nine days. Here are goddess Durga’s nine incarnations.
 Ghatasthapana, Shailaputri Puja- Devotees worship the avatar of Maa Parvati Shailputri, who is the daughter of Mountain, on the first day.

 Brahmacharini Puja-On the second day, Maa Parvati’s unmarried avatar, Brahmcharini, is worshipped with enthusiasm.

 Chandraghanta Puja-Maa Parvati is said to have worn the Ardha Chandra on her forehead after marrying Lord Shiva. As a result, on the third day, she is worshipped.

 Kushmanda Puja-Maa Kushmanda is worshipped on the fourth day and is thought to be the universe’s creative power.

 Upang Lalita Vrat, Skandamata Puja-Skandamata, the mother of Skanda ( Kartikeya ), is worshipped on the fifth day.

 Katyayani Puja- Katyayani is the daughter of sage Katyayana and a warrior goddess. On the sixth day of the Hindu calendar, Panchami, Hindus pay their respects to her.

 Maha Saptami, Kalaratri Puja-On the seventh day, we worship Maa Kaalratri, one of Maa Durga’s most destructive forms.

 Mahashtami, Durgashtami, Kumari Puja, Mahagauri Puja-Ashtami is one of Navratri’s most fortunate days. On the eighth day, Devi Mahagauri is worshipped, and she represents calmness and intelligence.

 Maha Navami, Navami Homa, Siddhidatri Puja-The goddess Durga in her Siddhidatri avatar is adored on the ninth day. Ardhanarishvara is Lord Shiva’s and Shakti’s combined form.
The idols are brought out in processions and submerged in water on the last day, Vijaya Dashami.

10 points on Navaratri

  • Navaratri, also known as shardiya navaratri or durga puja, is a nine-day Hindu festival worshiping the goddess Durga and her nine avatars known as navdurga.


  • One of the most important Hindu festivals, Navaratri, is a Sanskrit word that refers to “nine nights.”


  • During Navaratri, devotees worship Goddess Durga’s nine avatars, namely Shailaputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skanda Mata, Katyayani, Kalaratri, Mahagauri, and Siddhidatri.


  • Worshiping these nine avatars of goddess Durga during Navratri is thought to give prosperity, health, and wisdom to worshippers.


  • It is believed that Lord Shiva gave his wife Goddess Durga permission to see her mother for nine days during this time.


  • Navaratri is celebrated because of the victory of good over evil, since it is popularly believed that the goddess Durga defeated the demon king Mahishasura by combining the energies of Brahma, Vishnu, and Shiva.


  • In a year, four Navaratris are celebrated according to Vedic calendar: Sharad Navaratri, Chaitra Navaratri, Magha Gupta Navaratri, and Ashadha Gupta Navaratri.
  • Sharad Navaratri is the Navaratri that occurs between September and October. It is the most important Navaratri, and it is celebrated with equal enthusiasm and passion throughout the country.
  • During this time, Goddess Durga defeated the evil Mahishasura, which is why her Maa Kali avatar is a symbol of shakti.
  • This Navaratri takes place during the bright half of the Hindu lunar month Ashwin.

Spread the love

Leave a Comment

Bigg Boss OTT 3 contestants weird pictures Amazing astrophotography hacks on your phone Frugal living tips for students Indegene IPO allotment status check by PAN Sidhu Moosewala Reborn !